top of page

Reflection in Context of AI

First off, hats off to the programmers who developed Alexa, Siri, self-driving cars, etc. After this project, I've realized that it is quite difficult to create even the simplest form of intelligence.

With Daedalus in mind, I think the whole issue of AI taking over humanity is a good ways off, and by AI I mean true AI that is actually self-intelligent and self-sustaining with functions similar to that of humans such as memory, emotions, feelings, and motives. On the other hand, "AI" that simply follows commands and procedures dictated by outside sources of intelligence are definitely on the rise. Although our group couldn't do it, a couple of the other groups were able to get their robot running with the ability to avoid pits and the Wumpus. If freshmen in college are able to get this simple level of intelligence with a $300 Lego kit, what could trained professionals do with large funding and their experience and background in AI specifically? Even so, I'm not sure how close even these professionals are to creating true AI.

Even with minimal knowledge in coding, looking at the final code Samm created, I still felt Daedalus, and probably other similar robots, was only following a preset algorithm and procedure."If A, then B or C. Otherwise, D". I don't know what true AI looks like, in practice or in coding, but I'm still fairly confident in saying that whatever we have today isn't true AI. Human intuition is quite easy to deceive in some (most) regards, but it terms of discerning if something is a true AI, I think you'll know it when you see it.

Of course, I realize my limited scope, knowledge, and experience as a freshman in college, so who knows? Maybe there's someone out there really creating something that will take things one step closer to true AI that I, or everyone else, have no knowledge of.


bottom of page